New Year – New Resolutions

I’ve never been one for New Year’s resolutions. Mainly because I’m terrible at keeping them but mostly because I think it’s a bit cliché. So many people set goals to get healthy, get out of debt or volunteer their time and they only last for all about 10 seconds.  Halfway through January, they’ve thrown their resolutions out the window, never looking back.

Do you ever wonder why there’s such a low success rate?  In my experience, I’ve never succeeded because my goals weren’t truly reachable.  I had these big ideas with no way to execute them.  This year, that’s not going to happen. Why, you ask? Well, it’s because I’ve made two resolutions that I know I can make happen!

First of all, I’ve promised myself that I WILL get back to blogging.  I love writing and blogging is a great outlet.  I don’t know about you, but for me the hardest part of blogging is finding the time.  I can’t be the only one… right? You have all these ideas for posts and you tell yourself, “I’ll write it tomorrow”… then tomorrow turns into this weekend, which turns into next week. The next thing you know, you’ve gone months without a post and your blog is left feeling so unloved! Well… not in 2016!

To help keep myself in the game and my eye on the ball, I told myself “you’ve got to get organized.” And guess what? That’s exactly what I did! I knew I had do something to make all that planning fun, so I purchased a day planner, washi tape, colored pens, stickers and markers and have been having a blast putting my ‘days’ down on paper.

I started by picking up an adorable Divoga weekly/monthly planner from Office Depot for around $24, and about 10 rolls of washi tape that were on major clearance! Because the packages of colored pens were so expensive at OD, I decided to walk next door to the Dollar Tree and browse their office/craft isle.  Seriously … I hit the jackpot.  I picked up some gold and silver gel pens, multi-colored ballpoint pens, about 10 different packages of stickers, some glittery washi inspired tape and some colorful marking flags .. all under $25! Awesome.. right!? I was so excited, I couldn’t wait to get home and start planning!

Once I put pen to paper, I felt so accomplished and organized! My week was down and after a few well placed stickers, my first planner looked like this…

Planner

So how about you? Do you use a day planner? Does it keep your life on track and organized? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time..

Capture09

One thought on “New Year – New Resolutions

Leave a Reply

