#DearMe

Do you know what you would tell your 16 year old self? In celebration of International Women’s Day on March 8th, YouTube’s #DearMe campaign DearMeencourages women everywhere to share any advice they would give their younger selves. It’s no surprise that since Tuesday thousands of #DearMe video’s have been posted by celebrities, YouTube stars and every day people just like you and me!

When I was 16, I was awkward.  I felt out of place.  I was only living in the moment and didn’t seem to have a care in the world.  I had no direction, no goal in life. This is what I would have liked to know from the “me” of the future.

Dear Me,

I know you feel awkward but you shouldn’t. Smile as often as possible. Save your money. Study more. Take more chances. Listen to your parents, they really do give good advice. Put yourself out there. Don’t be afraid on rejection, it only makes you stronger. Set goals and don’t stop until you achieve them. Be someone you admire. Work hard, it will pay off. Be you and no one else. The friends you have now will be your friends for life! Don’t rush through college because it will be some of the best years of your life. You ARE good enough.

Love,

You’re 28 y/0 self 

It all starts with two words.  Share the link to your #DearMe letter or video in the comments.

6 small

Leave a Reply

