Make – A – Wish

This year, I made a promise to myself that I would spend more time volunteering for organizations that are making a difference. That being said, a couple of weeks ago, I had the opportunity to volunteer for Make-A-Wish Mid-South’s Heart-Filled Wish-A-Thon. For those of you who don’t know, this is a yearly fund-raising event for our local Make-A-Wish chapter with one goal – Raise money to help grant the wishes of local kids.

1975098_648730541898892_6728918632108311821_nThrough these donations, each year the Make-A-Wish foundation grants thousands of wishes to kids between the ages of 2 ½ and 18 years old. Each child is battling a serious life threatening illness and their wishes range from meeting their idol, going on their dream vacation or being a fireman for the day.

I won’t lie. I was a bit nervous. I had never worked in a phone bank before but after my first call, I was hooked. I instantly fell in love with the whole process. The Mid South staff and other volunteers were so kind and made me feel extremely comfortable and welcomed. Not to mention, everyone who called to make a donation was so pleasant and many thanked me for setting aside time to volunteer for such a wonderful organization. It was certainly worth getting up so early on a Friday morning!

This year, in addition to the option to make a donation over the phone, there were two satellite locations in Benton and North Little Rock that brought in over $10,000 combined! Over all, a grand total of $253,356 was raised! How amazing is that!?

If you have the chance to do something like this in your life, I highly encourage you to take advantage of it. This was truly one of the most rewarding feelings that I’ve ever experienced.

6 small

One thought on “Make – A – Wish

Leave a Reply

